Administrative Set Up

This district is one of the four districts, those come under MORADABABD division.

District is the main unit of the state. The District Magistrate/Collector is the administrator of the district . The most important work of the the district magistrate is to maintain law and order, various rules and implementation of various govt. orders. Being a top administrator of the district he directly order the police department whenever required. He is also responsible to maintain peace and justice in the district.

D.M Office Amroha
D.M Office Amroha

As a collector the most important works of the district magistrate are:

  1. To collect the land revenue, main and miscellaneous dues of the government
  2. Proper maintenance of the Land Records
  3. Land acquisition
  4. Settlement of the refugees.
  5. To provide the help to the public during the natural calamities like drought, flood and earthquake.
  6. To maintain the accounts of receipts and payments in the district treasury by the help of the Chief Treasury Officer and send the details to the government.
  7. To implement all the government programmes in the interest of the common public of the district.
  8. To make availability of all the consumable items under public distribution system to the fair price shops by the help of the District Supply Officer.
  9. To conduct all national/state/local level elections peacefully.
  10. Being a chairman of District Sainik Welfare board he directly linked to welfare of army personal.


For planning purpose district is divided into Blocks. There are SIX (6) blocks namely…


S No Block Name S No Block Name
1 Amroha 4 Dhanaura
2 Hasanpur 5 Joya
3 Gajraula 6 Ganeshwari


in J.P.NAGAR district, Block Development officer is the incharge of the block. BDO monitor the implementation of all the programs related to planning and development of the blocks. To make the co-ordination in the development work and for implementation of various schemes at various blocks, there is an officer i.e. Chief Development Officer.

To maintain the general administration of the district there is one additional district magistrate and three sub-divisional magistrate for the assistance of district magistrate.


S No Post
1. Additional District Magistrate (Finance & Revenue)
3. SDM-Dhanaura
4. SDM-Hasanpur


Number Of Tehsil Total Number Of village Total Area In Sq.KM Agriculture Land Irrigated Area(In Thousand Hec.) Govt. Tube Wells Private Tube Wells/Pumsets .
3 1133 2249 170 321374 53 70589 .
No.of Blocks No.of Nayay Panchayats No. of Gram sabha No. of Adarsh Rajasv Gram No.of Lekhpals No.of Land Record Inspector No. of Registrar Kanoongo No. of Asst.Rg. Kanoongo
6 47 462 216 202 9 3 7


According to general and revenue administration, District Amroha is divided into three sub divisions Sadar(Amroha), Dhanaura, Hasanpur. The area of each subdivision includes the area of each tehsil. Every tehsil comes under S.D.M., a class one magistrate of general administration and acts as an assistant collector for revenue administration. Also there is one Tehsildar in each tehsil who is assisted by additional Tehsildar, Nayab Tehsildar (for each pargana).

Tehsildar acts as 2nd-class magistrate for his tehsil and helps Assistant Collector (S.D.M.) for running the revenue administration properly. Tehsildar works as an officer incharge for its tehsil office and revenue court. His work mainly includes collection of all dues, maintenance of Land Records, disposal of revenue cases and welfare of general public. Tehsildar is also incharge of sub treasury office located in his Tehsil.


For better administration tehsils are segmented in paragnas. Each pargana is headed by a Nayab Tehsildar. He is assisted by Kunoongo and Lekhpals.


SNO Tehsil No.Of Village No.Of Panchayat No.Of Prajanan Total No.of Lekhpal Total No.Of REVN.Inspector Total No. NAIB Thesildar Total Area In Hact. Irrigated Area In Hact. No.Of Khatedar
1. Amroha 410 19 1 61 3 3 62273 85271 127651
2. Hasanpur 378 14 1 77 3 2 84312 83393 99643
3. Dhanaura 345 14 1 64 3 2 67743 52041 73528



In Chakbandi One DDC/SOC is posted at District Head Quarter.He is assisted with several CO in different tehsils.


OTHER DISTRICT LEVEL OFFICERS OF U.P. GOVT. IN Amroha. In Amroha district there are several officers related to administration, development and public welfare as follows :

S No Name of Officer S No Name of Officer
1 Chief Development Officer 15 District Probation Officer
2 Chief Medical officer 16 District Supply Officer
3 General Manager, District Industries Centre 17 Asstt Registrar(Co-operative Societies)
4 Executive Engineer, PMGSY 18 District Agriculture Officer
5 Executive Engineer,Nalkoop 19 District Plant Protection Officer
6 Executive Engineer, Jal Nigam 20 Chief Veterany Officer
7 Executive Engineer, PWD 21 District Cane Officer
8 Sr. Treasury Officer 22 District Social Welfare Officer
9 Project Director-DRDA 23 District Panchayat Raj Officer
10 Basic Shiksha Adhikari 24 District Horticulture Officer
11 District Inspector of Schools 25 Bhumi Sanrakshan Adhikari
12 District Excise Officer 26 District Eco.& Stat. Officer
13 District Information Officer


27 District Savings Officer
14 Alpshankhyak Kalyan Adhikari


28 District Development officer